Who We Are

The Repatriation Medical Authority (the Authority) is an independent statutory agency established under Part XIA of the Veterans' Entitlements Act 1986 (VEA). The Authority is part of the Veterans’ Affairs portfolio.

The Authority consists of a panel of five practitioners eminent in fields of medical science. One of their number must be a person having at least 5 years experience in the field of epidemiology. The Authority is comprised of:

  • a Chairperson
  • four other Members

All members are appointed by the Minister on a part-time basis under section 196L of the VEA, and must be a registered medical practitioner, or medical scientist, with at least 10 years experience. The current membership consists of Professors Campbell (Chairperson), Byrne, Cicuttini, Doust and Hensley.


Professor Terence Campbell


Professor Terence Campbell AM, MD (UNSW), DPhil (Oxon), FRACP is Emeritus Professor of Medicine at the University of New South Wales (UNSW).

Professor Gerard Byrne


Professor Gerard Byrne, BSc(Med) 1978 UNSW, MBBS (Hons) 1980 UNSW, PhD 1997 UQ, FRANZCP. Professor Byrne is Head of the Discipline of Psychiatry within the School of Medicine at the University of Queensland and Director of Geriatric Psychiatry at the Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital.

Professor Flavia Cicuttini


Professor Flavia Cicuttini AM, MBBS (Monash), PhD , FRACP, MSc (Lond), DLSHTM, FAFPHM, FAAHMS. Professor Cicuttini is Head of Rheumatology, Alfred Hospital and Head of Musculoskeletal Unit, School of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, Monash University.

Professor Jenny Doust


Professor Jenny Doust BA, BEcons, BMBS, Grad Dip Clin Epi, PhD, FRACGP. Professor Doust is Professor of Clinical Epidemiology in the Centre for Research in Evidence Based Practice at Bond University and also works half-time as a general practitioner in Brisbane.

Professor Michael Hensley

Professor Michael Hensley MBBS, PhD, FRACP is Director of Medical Services at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, Sydney  and Emeritus Professor of Medicine of the University of Newcastle. Professor Michael Hensley MBBS, PhD, FRACP was appointed to the Authority in April 2022.

RMA Secretariat

Amanda Evans

Registrar of the Repatriation Medical Authority

Amanda Evans BA (Hons) LLB. Amanda Evans is the Registrar and Legal Counsel of the Repatriation Medical Authority (RMA), and heads the RMA Secretariat based in Brisbane. Amanda is a legal practitioner and has extensive experience in private practice and public law.